Cupcakes with Homemade Icing

When I babysit, I always get the kids in the kitchen. We always have a good time either making cookies from scratch or doing a little semi-homemade baking. The other day, I was with the youngest kid, who is four years old, and he wanted to make cupcakes. The family has these really cool cupcake trays, and he really wanted to use them. So we make dinosaur and truck shape cupcakes (wish these were around when I was growing up!).

IMG_0188

I was a little hesitant to use the pans, only because there were so many nooks and crannies. I made sure to grease the pans really well, so the cupcake won’t stick, and break once they were done cooking. I was happy withe the result, as was the kid.

IMG_0194

When it comes to baking, I love being creative with the icing. I am not a fan of canned icing. I always make my own. Its so easy! To make vanilla icing, all you need is butter, cream cheese, powdered sugar, and vanilla extract. To make chocolate, it is the same as vanilla, but you add in cocoa powder instead of vanilla extract.

IMG_0190

I wasn’t able to find cocoa powder in the house, so I used Nutella and Ghirardelli hot chocolate mix. I used these two together, because Nutella on its own is delicious, but when its added to butter and cream cheese, it loses its richness and chocolate flavor. The Ghirardelli hot chocolate mix helped to bring that rich, chocolate flavor back.

 IMG_0192

The final product was delicious to say the least! Both of us were very pleased and enjoyed eating our cupcakes.

xoxo

Leave a comment