Mrs. McHugh’s Down Home Macaroni & Cheese

I have always been in love with food, so when I was in the middle school, it came as no surprise that I spent all my free time in the Home Economics room. Mrs. McHugh was the teacher for home economics and was the best teacher I have ever had. Now, many many years later, my younger neighbors who are now in middle school, have her as their teacher for home economics. But now, the name of the class is Top Chef and everyone wants to take it. She has one of the best macaroni and cheese recipes, and I have making it over and over again for my neighbor when I babysit.

The recipe I am about to post, includes Velveeta….which I and not a fan of…ever, but I love this recipe

Ingredients-

1/4 cup of butter or margarine

1/4 cup of flour

1 teaspoon of salt

2 cups of milk

1/4 lb of velveeta cheese, cut up

8 oz of shredded cheddar cheese (about 2 cups)

2 cups of cooked & drained elbow macaroni (about 8 ounces)

3 tablespoons of bread crumbs (panko or italian)

Steps:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit

2. In a large stockpot, bring water to a boil and add 1 tablespoon of salt

3. Add elbow macaroni to the boiling water and cook, stirring occasionally for about 8 minutes (read package if using different pasta for cooking time)

4. Once pasta is cooked and drained, start roux for the cheese sauce

5. In a separate large sauce pan, melt 3 tablespoons of butter over low heat

6. As the butter is melting, add in 1/4 cup of flour and stir constantly until flour is cooked (roughly a minute or two- do not want to over cook the flour, because it will have a burnt flavor)

7. To the flour and butter, add 2 cups of milk and stir with a whisk until it has thickened

8. Add in the velveeta and cheddar cheese to the sauce and stir with a wooden spoon until all the cheese is melted

9. Pour cooked macaroni into the cheese sauce and stir until all the noodles are covered in cheese

10. Pour the macaroni and cheese into a 1 1/2 quart baking dish and sprinkle the 3 tablespoons of bread crumbs mixed with 1 tablespoon of melted butter on top- this creates a nice crust on top

11. Bake for 30 minutes, or until the breadcrumbs are golden brown, and the cheese is bubbling

IMG_3827

Enjoy!

XOXO

Leave a comment